We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

KCC - Top table reshuffle at County Hall

By Chloe Wheatley (Interim Town Clerk) Westgate-on-Sea Town Council

Tuesday, 15 August 2023


Westgate-on-Sea Town Council Contributor


The Leader of Kent County Council, Roger Gough, has announced changes to his Cabinet.

There are new appointments in portfolios for Adult Social Care and Public Health, Community and Regulatory Services, Highways and Transport and Communications and People.

Clair Bell moves into the role of Community and Regulatory Services, replacing Mike Hill, who has stepped down from the Cabinet after 18 years.

Dan Watkins takes on Cllr Bell’s previous position as Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Public Health, stepping up from Deputy Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport.

Neil Baker succeeds David Brazier in Highways and Transport.

Dylan Jeffrey takes on the role of Cabinet Member for Communications and Democratic Services. This reconfigures the Communications and People portfolio, formerly held by Shellina Prendergast. Cllr Jeffrey was previously Deputy Cabinet Member for Integrated Children’s Services.

The remainder of the Cabinet is unchanged – Rory Love holds the Cabinet position for Education and Skills, Sue Chandler is Cabinet Member for Integrated Children’s Services, Susan Carey continues as Cabinet Member for Environment and Derek Murphy remains Cabinet Member for Economic Development.

Deputy Leader of KCC Peter Oakford also continues in his role as Cabinet Member for Finance, Corporate and Traded Services. He will also now oversee KCC’s Human Resources function.

Announcing the changes Mr Gough said: “These changes to the Cabinet give us a renewed team that will focus on the challenges and opportunities facing the Council, including the significant pressures we as an authority are continuing to face.

“These are profoundly challenging times and we will drive forward with the urgent and necessary decisions to balance our budget and secure Kent’s future for our residents.

“I’d like to thank those Cabinet Members who are stepping down from their roles for their significant contributions, and in particular to thank Mike Hill for the enduring commitment, care and wisdom he has brought to his Cabinet position for the last 18 years.”

Changes to other roles will be announced in the coming days.

Contact Information

Trish Hamilton (Town Clerk)

  • 01843 836182
  • 01843 836182

Find Westgate-on-Sea Town Council

Westgate on Sea Town Council, 78 St. Mildreds Road, Westgate-On-Sea, Kent, CT8 8RF


Additional Information

The email address for the Town Clerk is [email protected]